Information Today Europe provides this section as a service to its readers and customers.

All content presented within the press release section is that of the submitter. Information Today Europe does not necessarily endorse such content and bears no responsibility or liability for its accuracy.

UKeiG calls for nominations

UKeiG is now seeking the 2011 nominations for its prestigious Tony Strix Award.


The UKeiG Tony Kent Strix Award is given in recognition of an outstanding practical innovation or achievement in the field of information retrieval. This could take the form of an application or service, or an overall appreciation of past achievements from which significant advances have emanated. The Award is open to individuals or groups from anywhere in the world. The deadline for nominations is Friday 26th August 2011.

Nominations should be for achievement that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • a major and/or sustained contribution to the theoretical or experimental understanding of the information retrieval process;
  • development of, or significant improvement in, mechanisms, a product or service for the retrieval of information, either generally or in a specialised field;
  • development of, or significant improvement in, easy access to an information service;
  • a sustained contribution over a period of years to the field of information retrieval; for example, by running an information service or by contributing at national or international level to organisations active in the field.

Key characteristics that the judges will look for in nominations are innovation, initiative, originality and practicality.

The information to be supplied in the initial nomination should comprise:

  • The name, institutional address and qualifications of the nominee
  • A brief biography (not more than half a page of A4)
  • A relevant bibliography (i.e. not comprehensive but including the key publications relevant to the nomination)
  • A justification for the nomination, of not more than half a page of A4, showing clearly which of the Strix award criteria the nominee meets and how the criteria are met

It is likely that the Award Committee, which includes a number of past winners, will request additional information from the nominators for those nominees considered suitable candidates for the award.

Nominations should reach the judges by Friday August 26th 2011.

Nominations for the 2011 Award should be sent to:

Chris Armstrong
Aberystwyth SY23 4TJ

Tel: +44 1974 251302

Editorial Contact:
Chris Armstrong
+44 1974 251302