Information Today Europe provides this section as a service to its readers and customers.

All content presented within the press release section is that of the submitter. Information Today Europe does not necessarily endorse such content and bears no responsibility or liability for its accuracy.

LILAC Awards 2012 - Nominees Announced!

Winners will be announced at the conference dinner at the Old Fruit Market, Glasgow on April 12th 2012.

London  ()

Information Literacy Practitioner of the Year Award

The CILIP CSG Information Literacy Group and the Scottish Library and Information Council (SLIC) are proud to offer an award for achievement in the field of Information Literacy. The award is open to an individual working in the Information Literacy arena, and in any sector, within the United Kingdom.

The nominees for the 2012 award are:

  • Emily Allbon. Law Librarian, City University Library
  • Judy Atkinson. LIS Manager, Royal College of Nursing
  • Emma Coonan. Research Skills and Development Librarian, Cambridge University Library
  • Christopher Gibson. Faculty Team Librarian, John Rylands University Library, University of Manchester
  • Andrew Walsh. Academic Librarian, University of Huddersfield.

The Credo Reference Digital Award for Information Literacy

The CILIP CSG Information Literacy Group is very pleased to announce an exciting new award for innovation in digital resources for Information Literacy generously sponsored by Credo Reference. This annual award will recognise an individual librarian or group of librarians who develop the best new digital resource for promoting information literacy.

Credo Reference's sponsorship of this award coincides with the recent launch of the Libraries Thriving online community, which is an open collaboration between librarians, educators and publishers. The purpose of the Libraries Thriving initiative is to enable librarians to share a positive vision of their future role in information discovery and delivery and to play a significant role in providing the tools, resources and support for the collective achievement of this vision.
The nominees for the 2012 award are:

  • The 23 Things Project Group: a partnership project of Aberdeen, Portsmouth, Suffolk and Surrey Library Services. Nominated for the 23 Things programme which introduces library staff to Web 2.0, Library 2.0, and other new technologies
  • Julie Adams, Andrea Hatton and Kathleen Morgan (Staffordshire University). Nominated for RefZone, a comprehensive interactive referencing aid website
  • The CPD23 Project Team led by Niamh Page (University of Cambridge). Nominated for the CPD23: 23 Things for Professional Development Training Course
  • Uma Devalapalli, Assistant Librarian West Middlesex University Hospital. Nominated for the Patricia Bowen Library & Knowledge Service Current Awareness Portal
  • Carol Elston, Jade Kelsall and Dave Burns (E-learning Team, Skills @Library, University of Leeds). Nominated for the Flying Start Project
  • Carol Elston, Jade Kelsall, Michelle Schneider and Lizzie Caperon (E-learning Team, Skills @Library, University of Leeds). Nominated for the Library Guide - an online introduction to the library
  • Jade Kelsall and Michelle Schneider (Leeds University Library). Nominated for the Plagiarism Tutorial
  • Ella Mitchell, Simone Okolo, Eric Plowman, Sue Harrison and Cathy Walsh (Library Info Skills Project Team, University of East London). Nominated for the Info skills online tool
  • Skills@Library Team, University of Leeds. Nominated for the Skills@Library lecturer pages
  • Jennifer Wilson, Susan Smith, Karen Fisher and Alison Park (Leeds Metropolitan University). Nominated for the Little Book of Info Skills Online.

Student Sponsored Place for LILAC IL Practitioner of the Year Award
Credo Reference Digital Award for IL
Student sponsored place at LILAC

Student Sponsored Place for LILAC

The winner of the 2012 award (sponsored by the CILIP CSG IL Group) is Thasya Elliott. Thasya is a Learning Resource Centre Assistant at Haringey Sixth Form Centre and is studying on the MA Information Management course at London Metropolitan University. The award entitles her to a fully funded place at LILAC. Congratulations!





Lilac Conference
Editorial Contact:
Nigel Morgan