Winner of the 2019 Tony Kent Strix Memorial Award announced

Professor Ingemar J. Cox - win recognises his major and sustained contributions to the field of information retrieval.

The UK electronic information Group (UKeiG), in partnership with the International Society for Knowledge Organisation UK (ISKO UK), the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Information and Computer Applications Group (RSC CICAG) and the British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG), has announced that the winner of the prestigious Tony Kent Strix Memorial Award for 2019 is Professor Ingemar J. Cox from the Department of Computer Science at University College London (UCL).

Professor Cox is the Head of UCL’s Media Futures Research Group and Professor at the Centre for Communication and Computing at the University of Copenhagen. His current research interests include information retrieval and data analytics of online social media, twitter and query logs.

Alan F. Smeaton, Professor of Computing at the Insight Centre for Data Analytics, Dublin City University and former Strix award winner (2011) commented:

“Ingemar Cox has made a huge contribution to the broad area of information retrieval and specifically to visual IR, over a sustained period of time. His citation record, his publication record, his outputs over more than two decades of research, and the fact that he is still one of our most active researchers in terms of publication, makes him an extremely worthy candidate for the award. Also worth noting is the variety of his work. He is not known for producing novel research in just one area but across a spectrum of topics from watermarking to IR algorithms and processes, from image search to digital health.”

The Tony Kent Strix Award was inaugurated in 1998 by the Institute of Information Scientists but is now administered by the UK electronic information Group. For more information about UKeiG and the Tony Kent Strix Award visit:

or email Gary Horrocks at: for further information.

Previous Strix winners are listed at:

A call for nominations for next year’s Tony Kent Strix Award will be issued early in 2020.