UKeiG announces two award winners

UKeiG, a special interest group of CILIP, has announced the winners of the Tony Kent Strix Award and the Jason Farradane Award.

The Jason Farradane Award

The Award goes to Sheila Webber in recognition of her role in teaching information science and for raising the profile of the information profession.  Sheila is Senior Lecturer at the Information School, University of Sheffield, and Head of the Libraries and Information Society Research Group, Director of the Centre for Information Literacy Research, and Director of Alumni Relations of the iSchool.

The Tony Kent Strix Award

This Award is presented by UKeiG in association with the Chemical Information and Computer Applications Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry;  the International Society for Knowledge Organisation UK and the British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group.  This year the award goes to Peter Ingwersen, Professor Emeritus at The Royal School of Library and Information Science, University of Copenhagen, Professor II at Oslo University College, Norway and Docent at Åbo Akademi University, Finland. Professor Ingwersen's major contribution to the theoretical and experimental understanding of information retrieval not only informed the design of automated search intermediaries, such as iPhone’s Siri, but his 30+ years of research excellence laid the foundations of Interactive Information Retrieval.

Both Awards will be presented in London on 21 October: the Tony Kent Strix Award at 12.10 during Enterprise Search Europe, and the Jason Farradane during the Closing Plenary at Internet Librarian International.