UKeiG announces 2017 Jason Farradane winner

UKeiG has announced that the UKeiG Jason Farradane Award winner for 2017 is Christopher Gutteridge, Systems, Information and Web programmer at the University of Southampton.

The award recognises his outstanding contribution to the information profession, raising the profile of the importance and value of information in the workplace and pioneering new and innovative ways to derive value from information. 

The award will be presented to Christopher by David Ball, UKeiG Chair on Day 2 of the prestigious library innovation conference Internet Librarian International 2017 on Wednesday 18th October at 12.15.

During his career Christopher has been involved in many projects that have information at their core. He was involved in open access research from the outset, pioneering the development of the EPrints platform. EPrints has a wide uptake at universities across the country and has set the expectation that universities should support open access archiving.

He was instrumental in pioneering open data services at University of Southampton. The service he developed has set the standard for open data services in the UK and was recognised with the Times Higher Education award for Outstanding ICT initiative of the Year, 2012.

Christopher founded as a place to stimulate discussion between UK universities on the subject of open data. The service has a mailing list where good practice and success stories are shared. provides a number of services for aggregating data from multiple institutions. It’s been so successful that Jisc, the membership organisation that supports digital solutions for the UK education sector, have taken over ownership of the service to ensure its continued existence for the whole community.

For more information please visit: Award Winner 2017