UK: preserving the digital universe

Six institutions to act as legal deposit libraries for UK's digital content.

Six libraries (The British library, the National Libraries of Wales and Scotland, the Bodleian Libraries, Trinity college library Dublin and Cambridge University Library) will have the right to receive copies of every UK electronic publication.  Their role will be to collect, preserve and provide long term access to the UK's digital content.

The libraries will gradually increase their capacity for managing large-scale deposit and access.  The results of the first live archive crawl of the UK web domain will be made available to researchers by the end of 2013.

See British Library press release.