Nominations are open for International Information Manager and Tony Kent Strix awards

UKeIG announces that nominations are open for the International Information Manager of the Year Award 2021 and for the Tony Kent Strix Award 2021

International Information Manager of the Year

Extending the award to an international audience this year, CILIP Special Interest Groups the Knowledge and Information Management Group (K&IM) and the UK e-information Group (UKeiG) issued a joint call for nominations for the international Information Manager of the Year Award 2021. Nominations should be received no later than 6 pm on Friday 24th September 2021. 

The award is given in recognition of an individual who has made a significant contribution to the discipline of knowledge and information management through their work and professionalism by meeting one or more of the following criteria:

  • Demonstrating excellence in the use of knowledge and information management techniques
  • Raising awareness of the value and impact of knowledge and information management in the workplace and the wider library and information profession
  • Making a major contribution to the theory and practice of knowledge and information management

Key characteristics that the judging panel will look for in nominations are innovation, initiative, originality and practicality.

Nominations should take the form of a short description of how the nominee has excelled (a document of no more than 750 words), together with full contact details of both the nominee and the nominator. Do not forget to include any documentary evidence, references or links to content which may support the nomination.

Nominations for the 2021 Award should be emailed with the documentation to:John Wickenden – Hon Secretary UKeiG, cc-ed to Gary Horrocks - UKeiG administrator; Sue Silcocks – Treasurer UKeiG; and Anne Fraser - Hon Secretary K&IM

The winning trophy and certificate will be presented at an awards ceremony on the evening of Wednesday 10th November 2021.

Tony Kent Strix Award

The UK e-information Group (UKeiG) is delighted to announce the call for nominations for the prestigious Tony Kent Strix Award 2021. Nominations should be received by 6 pm GMT on Thursday 30th September 2021.

The Tony Kent Strix Award was inaugurated in 1998 by the Institute of Information Scientists. It is now presented by UKeiG in partnership with the International Society for Knowledge Organisation UK (ISKO UK), the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Information and Computer Applications Group (RSC CICAG) and the British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG).

The Award is given in recognition of an outstanding practical innovation or achievement in the field of information retrieval in its widest sense. This could take the form of an application or service, or an overall appreciation of past achievements that have led to significant advances. The award is open to individuals or groups from anywhere in the world.

Nominations must be for a major, sustained or influential achievement that meets one or more of the following criteria:

Science: The advancement of our understanding of information retrieval methods, experimentation and evaluation, at either the theoretical or the practical level. The scope includes approaches as diverse as linguistic, probabilistic, fact-checking or artificial intelligence applied to search.

Service Delivery: The development and management of systems, networks or services:

  • Enhancement of the mechanisms/technology/standards underpinning information products or services
  • Establishing an innovative information resource or service
  • Innovations leading to improved accessibility/usability of information resources.

Education and organisational infrastructure: The provision of leadership in education, training, community development and/or collaboration to advance information retrieval at local, national or international level.

Submissions must include:

  • The name, institutional address and qualifications of the nominee
  • A brief biography - (maximum one A4 page)
  • A selective bibliography - (key publications relevant to the nomination)
  • A justification for the nomination - (maximum one A4 page) showing clearly which of the award criteria the nominee meets and how they are met
  • Additional material - letters of support, for example. (Letters from previous winners would be especially valuable).

Please email to: John Wickenden – Hon. Secretary UKeiG and copy in Gary Horrocks - UKeiG administrator and Sue Silcocks – Hon. Treasurer UKeiG